10 July 2013

The Five Love Languages

Reviewer: Kelsey
Author: Gary Chapman
Format: Paperback
Pages: 208
Rating: 7 out of 10

Sum it up Goodreads: Are you and your spouse speaking the same language? While love is a many splendored thing, it is sometimes a very confusing thing, too. And as people come in all varieties, shapes, and sizes, so do their choices of personal expressions of love. But more often than not, the giver and the receiver express love in two different ways. This can lead to misunderstanding, quarrels, and even divorce.

Quality time, words of affirmation, gifts, acts of service, and physical touch are the five basic love languages. Dr. Gary Chapman identifies these and guides couples towards a better understanding of their unique languages of love. Learn to speak and understand your mate's love language, and in no time you will be able to effectively love and truly feel loved in return. Skillful communication is within your grasp!

Thoughts: I am wholly unqualified to review this. However, my dad made me read it because he is on a self-help kick so here is just a little bit of what I think about it. It was well written, clear, easy to read, and well thought out. The stories the author uses illustrate the meaning of the book as well as the author's ideas. I believe that if one was having a hard time in their marriage, or even if they weren't, this could help to make their marriage better.  I will definitely keep this book around for a later reread. Who doesn't want to be happy in their marriage?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...